Monday, March 25, 2013

Free Pass Fridays Answer: March 22

Florida became a United States territory in 1821. At this time, it was a largely uninhabited wilderness with two main cities - Pensacola and St. Augustine. Tallahassee was chosen as the new capitol because of its central location. As Southern planters from nearby states began to move to the new territory, these new inhabitants began to rally for statehood. Florida received full statehood on March 3, 1845. For more information on Florida History, check out the Florida Division of Historic Resources website.

No comments:

Post a Comment